Skip to Content

Longlist Announcement: NLCU Fresh Fish Award 2024

May 27, 2024

WritersNL is excited to announce the longlist finalists for one of the country’s most lucrative literary awards for unpublished writers, the Fresh Fish Award, presented bi-annually by NLCU.

The Award, established by the O’Dea family in 2006 and sponsored by NLCU, serves as an incentive for emerging writers in the province by providing financial support, recognition, and professional editing services for a book-length manuscript in any genre.

The winning author will receive a cash prize of $5,200 and $1,000 towards professional editing services for the winning manuscript. Each runner-up will each receive $1,200.

Our 2024 longlist finalists (listed alphabetically by last name) are:

I Kill Myself – A Live Comedy Show
 – Veronica Dymond

the big bad – Stephanie Leger

Green – Paul Moorehead

Those Who Stay – Sabrina Pinksen

The Swamp Hag of Hurricane Island and Other Stories – Kira Sheppard

The Clearing – Cathy Stockwood

WritersNL sends a heartfelt congratulations to these wonderful emerging writers, and we thank everyone who submitted their works for this year’s prize.

We would also like to thank our talented and knowledgeable jury – choosing one winner out of so many fantastic submissions is no easy feat!

Jurors Tia McLennan, Joshua Goudie and Trudy Morgan-Cole “had plenty of overlap in our favourites,” the jury told WritersNL.

“We were all impressed by the strength of so many of the entries,” juror Tia McLennan added.

WritersNL also wishes to send thanks to NLCU for their continued support with this award.

The shortlist for the 2024 NLCU Fresh Fish Award will be announced on June 3, 2024.

For any questions or media inquiries, please contact Executive Director Jen Winsor at or 709-739-5215.

Click here for full details

Times and Locations

May 27, 2024

12:00 pm