Skip to Content

2023 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Award Longlist Announcement

September 6, 2023

WritersNL is pleased to announce the longlist for the 2023 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards (NLBAs).

The Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards are held annually by WritersNL to recognize excellence in writing by authors residing in Newfoundland and Labrador.

In 2023, we are honouring two categories – the E.J. Pratt Family Poetry Award, and the Power Family Non-Fiction Award.

Longlisted authors are listed alphabetically by last name below. Congrats to all!

🔹The 2023 Power Family Non-Fiction NL Book Award Longlist:🔹
• Fishing Measures: A Critique of Desk-Bound Reason by Daniel Banoub
• Rock Paper Sex Volume 2: Trigger Warning by Kerri Cull
• The Vernacular Strain in Newfoundland Poetry by Mary Dalton
• Towards an Encyclopedia of Local Knowledge: Chapter III, Miawpukek – The Middle River by Pam Hall, Jerry Evans
• A Life Spent Listening by Dr. Hassan Khalili
• If I Cry I’ll Fill An Ocean by Ida Linehan Young

🔹The 2023 E.J. Pratt Family Poetry NL Book Award Longlist:🔹
• The Debt by Andreae Callanan
• Romantic by Mark Callanan
• Passengers by Michael Crummey
• Lurch by Don McKay
• Problematica by George Murray
• Land of the Rock: Talamh An Carrig by Heather Nolan

Join us for the 2023 NLBAs!

• The 2023 NLBAs Shortlist will be announced on September 14, 2023.
Both readings + winner announcement events will be held in St. John’s at the A.C. Hunter Public Library.
The 2023 NLBAs will be broadcast by RogersTV, and live-streamed via Webex.

• The E.J. Pratt Family Poetry Award readings + winner announcement will take place on Tuesday, September 26, 2023 @ 6:00 p.m. NST

• The Power Family Non-Fiction Award readings + winner announcement will take place on Wednesday, September 27, 2023 @ 6:00 p.m. NST

For full NLBA information + links, please visit us online:

View full details here:

Times and Locations

September 6, 2023

1:00 pm